Fatea Awards

The Fatea Awards, recognise achievement in 2011. All of the award winners were featured on the site during the year.

No one artist is allowed to win more than one award, though many were considered in a number of catagories.

The awards come with plenty of kudos and merit, but sadly no big tv show, speeches and trophies. In each catagory we announce the winner and the two artists that came closest to beating them to the winning post.

We also have three special awards. The Tradition Award is presented to the act that have traditional folk at the root of their sound and use it to inspire new songs, tunes and arrangements. The Innovation Award is presented for a context or concept that widens the appeal of roots based music or brings a different thought process to it. The Lifetime Achievement Award speaks for it's self.

With out further ado or guilding of the lily, the top performers in the 2011 Fatea Music Awards are:

Album Of The Year 2011
Winner: Ragged Kingdom - June Tabor & Oysterband
1st Runner Up: The Woodbine & Ivy Band - The Woodbine & Ivy Band
2nd Runner Up: Every Dirty Mirror - Case Hardin

Single/EP/Mini Album Of The Year 2011
Winner: Nerves Of Steel - Flaming June
1st Runner Up: Keep It Together - Catherine A.D.
2nd Runner Up: A Long Road To Find - Cole Stacey

Track/Song Of The Year 2011
Winner: When Tottenham Burned - Robb Johnson
1st Runner Up: Late Mournings - Porchsong Anthology
2nd Runner Up: When The Coffin's Come Home - Thursday's Child

Debut Album Of The Year 2011
Winner: Adelphi Has To Fly - Lucy Ward
1st Runner Up: TEMPVS - Louise Jordan
2nd Runner Up: Happ - Fribo

Instrumental Album Of The Year 2011
Winner: Ceilidh - Tickled Pink
1st Runner Up: Wriggle And Writhe - Tim Edey & Brendan Power
2nd Runner Up: A Cruel Kindness - Fiona Cuthill & Stevie Lawrence

Female Vocalist Of The Year 2011
Winner: Jackie Oates
1st Runner Up: Josienne Clarke
2nd Runner Up: Elle Osborne

Male Vocalist Of The Year 2011
Winner: Paul McKenna
1st Runner Up: Trent Miller
2nd Runner Up: Victor Chetcuti

Band/Duo Of The Year 2011
Winner: Carrivick Sisters
1st Runner Up: Circus Envy
2nd Runner Up: ahab

Instrumentalist Of The Year 2011
Winner: Will Pound
1st Runner Up: Barney Morse-Brown
2nd Runner Up: Kevin Henderson

Live Performers Of The Year 2011
Winner: The Levellers
1st Runner Up: The Bad Shepherds
2nd Runner Up: Blackbeard's Tea Party

Festival Of The Year 2011
Winner: Cambridge Folk Festival
1st Runner Up: Great British Folk Festival
2nd Runner Up: Beverley

Innovation 2011
Winner: Port Of Escape - Chris Rickets
1st Runner Up: Dan And Headless Bill - Red Lip
2nd Runner Up: The Minstrel's Grave - Sproatly Smith

Tradition 2011
Winner: Wayside Courtesies - Pilgrim's Way
1st Runner Up: Lady Diamond - Bryony Griffith & Will Hampson
2nd Runner Up: Manran - Manran

2011 was the toughest ever year for choosing the winner of our Lifetime Achievement Award. Two great artists that have inspired me greatly over the years both died. Bert Jansch was one of the finest guitar players this country, nay the world, has produced. Jackie Leven was both a prolific and talented songwriter/raconteur who wrote fantastic tales and reflections on his life , that inspired so many people. Both artists would have been worthy winners of this award, this or any other year, but it is a Fatea preference to award the Lifetime Achievement award to a living artist.

Whilst the music industry has many hyphen junkies, singer-songwriter-producer-arranger, the winner of this year's award can also add stage and screen actor to his list. As a musician, he's performed solo, as a duo with Barry Coope, in bands such as The Albion Band and Home Service.

As an actor he's best known as Rifle Daniel Hagman from the Sharpe series, for which he also co-wrote the score. He was music consultant at the National Theatre for War Horse, having previously worked there as musical director back in the 70s and 80s, then a short spell at the turn of the millennium.

In addition to his own creative work, he has ensured that traditional music and musicians has been properly collected, making a highly regarded set of field recordings of County Clare concertina players in the mid seventies in conjunction with Neil Wayne.

To celebrate 40years of releases, starting with his performance on "No Roses" back in 1971, together with his numerous contributions to folk music, both live and through recorded mediums, including films, this year's Fatea Lifetime Achievement Award goes to John Tams.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Winner: John Tams

Thank You

I'd just like to take this opportunity to thank everyone that helped make 2011 such a special year for Fatea. We changed our look this year and readership has continued to go from strength to strength. The Fatea Showcase Sessions have continued to grow in popularity featuring artists from all points on the acoustic spectrum.

Fatea could not be what it is without three vital factors, the artists that make the music, the writers and photographers to bring news and reviews to you the readers and you the readers, without whome none of this would make any sense.

Thank you all for your part in making Fatea what it was during 2011. I feel really privileged to have worked with you all and look forward to working with you all again in 2012, may it bring you all you wish of it. Cheers, Neil

Fatea Showcase Sessions

The Fatea Showcase Sessions are a series of downloads featuring acts that we've really enjoyed and think that more people should get the chance to hear.
Click Here to get the latest session

Visit The FATEA Archive!