string(5) "index" FATEA - Home dsffg


Morrissey & Marshall Morrissey & Marshall
Album: We Rise Again Acoustically
Label: Mass Market
Tracks: 12

Morrissey & Marshall's new album might sound just a little familiar, given that ten of its 12 tracks appeared on We Rise. Fans of the London based pair have often debated on whether they sound better with the full band and production behind them, or stripped down to just a couple of acoustic guitars and one of the finest pair of harmony singers you're ever likely to hear. We Rise Again Acoustically is their answer to the debate; their most recent album rerecorded in one day, with each track stripped right back and recorded in one take.

The acoustic version shows the songs in a whole new light, taking a step away from the anthemic indie sound of the original. It means that the lyrical performance takes centre stage, which has always been the key strength of this duo. Cold November Sunrise is still a great opener with a stripped back introduction, and the message of inclusion is all the stronger for the newer take. She's Got Love sounds almost Beatlesesque, with the harmonising sounding incredible and sending the song soaring.

Highlight though comes at the midway point with Stand Down, which is turned into an almost six minute epic. As good as it was with a rock beat, it is transformed into an achingly beautiful track which you'll listen to again and again. I Need You is a very similar version to the previous album, and just as deeply personal. There are also two new songs - Sing To You, which has a 60s vibe, and One Man Band, written by Darren Morrissey when he was 15, but certainly doesn't like a teenage creation.

It would be understandable if some fans felt that having another version of We Rise might be overkill, but it's a very worthy addition. It's different enough that it never feels like a duplicate, and will give those fans a new appreciation of the songs. For those who haven't already experienced the original We Rise, this could just become your new favourite album.

Adam Jenkins