string(5) "index" FATEA - Home dsffg

Recognising Achievement in 2016

Fatea is proud to announce the shortlists for the Fatea Awards. The awards are nominated by the Fatea team and recognise excellence over 2016.

Each award has a shortlist of three and we congratulate all artists on our shortlist as well as the many others that were nominated and every artist and band that released music or performed live during 2016.

No artist is allowed to win more than one award and all have featured in the magazine during the last year.

We also have three special awards. The Tradition Award is presented to the act or organisation that have traditional folk at their root and use it to inspire new songs, tunes and arrangements in the traditional spirit. The Innovation Award is presented for a context or concept that widens the appeal of roots based music or brings a different thought process to it. The Lifetime Achievement Award speaks for its self and is announced on the night

The winners of the Fatea Awards will be announced during a two hour radio special, this year hosted by Blues & Roots Radio on January 13th at 8PM(GMT).

Album Of The Year 2016
Ballads Of The Broken Few - Seth Lakeman Featuring Wildwood Kin
Bloodlines - Merry Hell
Somewhere Between - Steve Pledger

Single/EP/Mini Album Of The Year 2016
Skin - Maz O'Connor
Born - Boo Hewerdine
Names On The Wall - The Changing Room

Track/Song Of The Year 2016
What Would You Give For A Leader With Soul - Southern Tentant Folk Union
Aberfan - Amy Goddard
Foreign Waters - Emily Mae Winters

Debut Album Of The Year 2016
Soaked To The Bone - The Black Feathers
Ghost - Lewis & Leigh
Before The Sun - Hannah Sanders & Ben Savage

Instrumental Album Of The Year 2016
In The Round - Leveret
Waves Rise From Quiet Water - Charlie Gray And Joseph Peach
Ignite - Will Pound & Eddy Jay

Female Artist Of The Year 2016
Hattie Briggs
Kelly Oliver
Kate Rusby

Male Artist Of The Year 2016
Jim Moray
Sam Kelly
Luke Jackson

Band/Duo Of The Year 2016
Ange Hardy & Lukas Drinkwater

Instrumentalist Of The Year 2016
Ciaran Algar
Martin Green
John Parker

Innovation 2016
Big Comfy Bookshop
Laurel Canyon
Breaking The Spell Of Loneliness Ewan McLennan & George Monbiot

Tradition 2016
No Petticoats Here - Louise Jordan
English Folk Dance & Song Society(EFDSS)
Songs Of Separation

Lifetime Achievement Award
Announced on the night

Fatea Showcase Sessions

The Fatea Showcase Sessions are a series of downloads featuring acts that we've really enjoyed and think that more people should get the chance to hear.
Click Here to get the latest session

Visit The FATEA Archive!

Blues And Roots Radio

Check out our shows and many other great shows on:

If you miss Along The Tracks Live, catch up at:

Helping Musicians Get Heard!!